The “Me” Project

Hello, and welcome to my very first blog. (Okay, this is not necessarily my first blog, but humor me- it’s my first blog here, anyway)

I joined Twitter recently, and found more writers there than I ever imagined existed- this was both terribly exciting and sort of a bummer for me, as I quickly realized how far behind the curve I am. I don’t review books. I don’t have an agent (yet, man, yet.). I don’t even have a blog, for heaven’s sake. Except that now, I do.

I have been trying to figure out what I should blog about. I wanted it to be something I could really commit to, something that held my interest, something that could hold the interest of someone reading…and I wanted it to be relevant to me, what was going on in my life.

Yesterday, it hit me- I should write about this little slump I am in, this sort of early onset mid-life crisis I am teetering on the brink of. You see, I am 36. I have a daughter who is fourteen and a daughter who is fourteen months. The fourteen year old makes me feel like something that just crawled out from under a rock, and the fourteen month old kind of made me look that way. I am at a stage in my life where, should I pass by a mirror naked and catch sight of myself, I stop and stare. Not because I look so fabulous that I have no choice, but because I can’t understand how the hell that could be ME. I mean, what happened?

Here’s what happened: I had a baby at 35. I have exercised a total of 27 times in my entire life (not counting sex, which, as we all know, he does most of the work anyway.Unless you are a lesbian, and then, quite frankly, I don’t really know how that works-it’s probably more fun, though.) I still smoke. I survive on a diet that would kill most teenagers. I have been known to have partied a little in my lifetime…hee-hee…my friends will appreciate that this is a slight understatement. Aside from all that, I haven’t updated my style ever- I am still doing to myself the same stuff I did in high school, and it’s time to make some changes.

So, I thought I would start a little project on myself and write about it here. Maybe it will suck and no one will care, but I still think it would be fun to track my progress and try out some new things. As I go along, I will, hopefully, entertain you with humorous stories about what is and isn’t cool, helpful, worth all the hype.

If nothing else, at least I’ll finally have a good excuse to get a bikini wax.

5 thoughts on “The “Me” Project

  1. Courtney~
    Your Mom told me the first time that I met her that you are the funniest person she’s given birth to.
    I’m anxious to follow your blog as I’m sure you’ll leave me laughing.

    Like

    1. This latest blog was actually my moms idea! She told me I should write about my mammo…so I did. I figured it was high time I started listening to her. Thanks for leaving a comment, I will make a valiant effort to be funny!

      Like

Everyone has an opinion...let's hear yours!

