Old Yeller

No, not the dog. I’m talking about me, and my propensity towards being rather loud. I come from a family of yellers- my mom is one, by grandfather was one. My cousin Heidi, my Uncle Boogie, (yes, I have an uncle named Boogie. His real name is Fizzle, though, just to clear that up.) the whole mess of us are yellers. Thanksgiving at our house is not for the faint of heart- it is, however, great if you are hard of hearing.

The bad thing about being a yeller is that when you are actually upset (which for me, with my two kids, puppy and somewhat frustrating boyfriend, is often) you have no choice but to kick it up a decibel or twelve. The neighbors always know who I am. I don’t always care for the way they look at me when I am outside- I mean, really. You try living with this bunch of maniacs, sometime. I am actually a really nice person, as long as you don’t know me very well.

The other bad thing about being a yeller is that after a while, no one pays attention to you anymore, no matter how loud you get. “Oh, that’s just my crazy mom again.” Aisley might say to her friend while I am in the kitchen screaming at what a mess they’ve made, or because someone ate ALL of my emergency Goober Grape AGAIN, and put the empty jar back in the cupboard.

I do not discriminate at whom I yell- inanimate objects are just as likely to be the focus of my rants as are the breathing inhabitants of my home. I try not to yell at the baby, since she is, after all, just a baby…but she may have gotten it a time or two, herself. Like when she just will NOT stop putting the dogs food into the water dish, or she refuses to keep her fingers away from the twelve billion outlets in this house. YES, they all have those baby proofing thingy’s in them, but still! I yell at semi-retarded drivers and sometimes at my own car while I’m driving. I yell at my daughter for using my bathrobe as a make-up rag, and for using my razor. I yell at Devon for leaving coffee cups everywhere and not calling me when he’s going to be home late. I yell and yell and yell, and no one is listening. I’ve become white noise.

But I have a solution. I become quiet. Deadly, scarily quiet. This really freaks everyone out. It’s not an easy thing for me to sustain as it is completely contrary to my nature, but I think I could get better at it with practice.

So…Here is my little project. From now until this time next week, I am going to calmly, quietly, go about my business. When I am pissed off, I am going to find another, new way of dealing with it. I am going to scare the pants off of these monkeys I live with.

Do you think I can do it? Do you think it will even be noticed? Hmmm….let’s see!

16 thoughts on “Old Yeller

  1. HAHA! Is that what’s happened to me? I’m white noise, the yelling just doesn’t seem to work anymore, but the silent treatment scares them!… πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. As a man formerly married to a yeller, when she got quiet was definitely the most terrifying πŸ˜‰

    BTW… Goober Grape? Is that a California thing?

    Like

      1. Hahaha, okay– I just googled it and I think I’ve seen that before. I’m not sure I could resist just eating it with a spoon ’til it’s gone if I had it in my house!

        Like

      2. The grossest part of all is that I spread margarine all over white bread, and then glob on the Goober Grape. It’s so yummy, I can’t really describe it. I don’t even like grape jelly at any other time. It’s one of my downfalls.

        Like

      3. Hahaha! Okay, I can totally understand how it happened then… I think I discovered Peanut Butter + honey under similar circumstances πŸ˜‰

        Like

  3. Hi! Can’t believe I see my name in the “yeller” section . . . wow. For the record, the older I get and the older my children get the less I yell. I abhore it now and really have fights with my husband when HE does it. Since you went and had another baby you’re probably screwed now. But I am a Fulton and loud talking will never go away . . .

    Your Cousin, Heidi

    Like

Everyone has an opinion...let's hear yours!

