Silly Poem

Twas the eve of my birthday,

I couldn’t care less;

I was too fat to fit into

My little black dress.

And it wouldn’t matter

If it wasn’t so-

For tomorrow is Tuesday-

(A work night, you know)

With no babysitter,

And no outing planned-

I shall simply sit home

With remote in my hand

Thinking of birthdays

From years gone by-

Getting so wasted,

I thought I would die;

Waking up fully clothed

On the floor by the bed

With the phone off the hook

Resting under my head.

Pantyhose off

Make-up still on

The house has been ransacked-

But nothing is gone.

Memorable nights,

I, alas, can’t recall

Too bad, as I hear

That I had quite a ball…

But that was back then

And this is right now-

When that doesn’t sound

Like much fun, anyhow.

Eh! I won’t worry

Or even give thought

To whether I’ll have

A good birthday or not-

Because, after all

I’ve had more than my share

Of birthdays so awesome

It’s not really fair

Besides, I can barely

Stay up ’til eleven;

And nobody’s excited

To turn thirty-seven.

Wow! It’s been a while since I’ve written anything that rhymed, and it was hard. Anyway, that wore me out, so I’m going to go to bed now…but I wanted to contribute something here, today, since I was so quiet for so long.

I hope you all have a wonderful night, I will definitely (try to ) write something tomorrow. Goodnight!

2 thoughts on “Silly Poem

  1. Hahaha, that was fun Courtney!! 🙂 Yeah, I can’t remember the last time I tried to compose a poem either, so bravo to you!

    Yeah, as you get older the birthdays seem less of a big deal. The only reason I’m celebrating this year is just an excuse to have a big throw down at my house, to try and reconnect with people socially that either I’ve been too long out of touch with or are new friends and acquaintances that I’ve just not had time before to hang out with. And to celebrate a better phase of my life.

    I hope you had a restful night’s sleep and look forward to your next post!!

    Like

    1. I actually slept incredibly badly last night, which is funny, because I always sleep great! But I had two cups of strong coffee last night, so maybe that messed me up.
      I try to squeeze every drop of special treatment I can out of my entire birthday month, but I just haven’t had the time this year. I’ve used it a lot today, though…I told my boss she should do one of my daily tasks for me, and that sort of thing.
      Anyway, back to work. Even though it’s my BIRTHDAY! Woo-woo!

      Like

Everyone has an opinion...let's hear yours!

