5 Little Things

Well, hello.

You’ve probably all forgotten me, and I don’t blame you- it’s been a long time since I’ve sat down here with something to say. I need to apologize, I suppose, for my absence. There is this thing that people do when they are feeling incredibly bad, and sad, and miserable, and overwhelmed…it’s called isolating. Maybe you’ve heard of it? Anyway, I sort of had a  little nervous breakdown, took some time off work, and I’ve been doing a lot of work on myself. Work that did not include writing this blog, unfortunately.

The good news is, I am better. The great news is, every time I go through something like this, I learn more about myself and what I really need to do to keep myself well. I am lucky that I have lived a life that has afforded me the luxury of safely taking care of myself- a job that allowed me to take a couple of months off to get better- I know that is not the case for all the people I know ( some of whom could DESPERATELY use a little self help…or ANY help, for that matter.). The point is, I realize how blessed I am to be where I am and have a great employer who really does give a shit about their employees ( they were probably like “PLEASE, PLEASE GOD, let that girl request a LOA before we have to fire her!)

So, back to my point…what was it, again? Oh yeah! What I have learned this time about me, and about my happiness and mental well being is so simple that I have whittled it down to five little things, henceforth called :

The Five Commandments of Courtney:

  1. Thou shalt not imbibe ANY illegal narcotics, ever, for any reason, other than major surgery.
  2. Thou shalt go to bed when tired and get eight hours of sleep, or more, whenever possible. And it is usually possible, so thou shalt not make it into something harder than it is.
  3. Thou shalt eat good, healthy food.
  4. Thou shalt get off your lazy little butt and MOVE. Exercise is good for your mind, body and spirit.
  5. Thou shalt have a spiritual program of some sort.

That’s it. That right there is the recipe for happiness for me, and since I have been making sure to live by these rules, guess what? My life is completely okay. Alright, I feel a little embarrassed about it, but in all honesty, my life feels WONDERFUL again. I forgot that when I feel great, my life is automatically going to seem more manageable to me, and by default, will become a pleasure again. I forgot that when I feel like a giant ball of shit, everything in front of me is going to look like shit, too.

Life is really not supposed to suck all the time. If you find that yours does, you may need to do what I did, and take a look at what the problem is. Chances are it is going to be you, but don’t despair! That is GREAT news- because YOU are the only one YOU can change. So there’s hope.

If anyone even still subscribes to my blog, I’d love to hear what your “commandments” are. How do you live your life to stay happy? Was there ever a time in your life when it was so bad you had to make some serious inner (or outer) changes?  I can’t wait to hear- so I’ll obsessively be checking my stats all day again!

6 thoughts on “5 Little Things

  1. Hi Courtney, glad to see you’re back and feeling good! Those five Commandments seem like good guidelines for just about anyone, great job “getting back to basics” and taking care of yourself. It certainly makes sense, our bodies are the lens through which we experience this world, and if our body isn’t feeling well then the lens is going to be cloudy. I think all of us would love life more if we followed your Commandments 🙂

    So… what are my Commandments? Hm, haven’t really thought too much about it before but here goes:

    1. Love is the most important thing in the world.
    2. Don’t sweat the small stuff. Is ~that~ really worth the energy/effort to get upset over?
    3. Don’t obsess on what you can’t change. Banging your head against an immovable object only leads to headaches!
    4. Find time for fun — Stop and Smell the Roses!
    5. *Show* affection for the ones you love– hugs, kisses, touch.

    So what do you think?

    And– welcome back!!

    Like

    1. I was waiting to hear from you! Those are ALL great and necessary things, and interestingly, all related to emotional health, if you think about it.
      If I had another branch of things leading off of my five basics, all of those things would be there. But right now I am at the “Bare-Bones” stage- tunnel vision city. Because if I can keep on top of those five, the rest just follows, naturally.
      Thanks so much for commenting, Ben. I’ve missed you.

      Like

      1. I’ve missed you too 🙂

        Hm, yeah you’re right– all of mine *are* related to emotional health! I have to admit I was pretty messed up emotionally due to a rather chaotic upbringing with an emotionally abusive dad, and I developed these tools to try and change from being the moody, angry and depressed young man I was into the happy, positive, and optimistic man I wanted to be. The anger and depression does lurk around deep inside but I think I’ve got a good handle on keeping it a very small part of who I am.

        I REALLY like your list though– I really need to try and implement that stuff back into my own life, which has gone off the rails lately in terms of eating right and exercising. Sleep is something I desperately need more of too, but sadly I can’t see that improving until I get to a point where I don’t need to hold multiple jobs, and that’s still a couple years down the road. Eating right and exercise though is doable and important.

        Like

      2. I have dropped eleven pounds in 19 days without really even feeling like I’m doing anything. No junk food, no crappy snacks, no fast food, no sweets (except for the occasional dark chocolate truffle, which is surprisingly low calorie!)
        I am so calm…I didn’t know this feeling was possible without the aid of sedatives. It’s just really, really nice.

        Like

    1. Thanks, Jon! I am doing well…better than well, actually. I may be outgrowing certain situations at an alarming rate…but that is a blog for another day!
      Looks like things are going well for you, as well. I’m glad. You seem like such an awesome, fun and interesting guy…you deserve every happiness.

      Like

Everyone has an opinion...let's hear yours!

