Autumn Draws Us Home

Happy Halloween! I don’t know about you, but for me, Autumn really begins today…or maybe in the days just before Halloween. I just start to feel differently when the giant bags of candy and baking supplies start to line the aisles of the grocery store, and the fruits of summer fade from the produce aisle, replaced by what seems like an awful lot of root vegetables whose names elude me. I start to think about hauling out my crock pot and making heartier meals. I notice the few fallen leaves we actually see around my home in California, and the way the days are so much shorter, and I want to be home, with my kids, in front of the woodstove. I want to eat popcorn and watch movies (although if you can think of a movie that a two year old, a fifteen year old, and a 37 year old can ALL enjoy, I’d like to hear it!) and start to nest a little.

But it’s more than that, even. The changing of the seasons ALWAYS affects me, but especially the one from summer to fall, and from winter to spring. I get a physical sensation of excitement and wonder, even at my age. From warmth to cold, from cold to warmth. Both have their own magic, their own possibilities, don’t they?

I am going to keep it at that today, just a short little check in. I hope your homes are filled with warmth, love, laughter and family this Autumn and Winter. Please let me know if the changing of the seasons affects you in a similar, or totally different, even, way.

One thought on “Autumn Draws Us Home

  1. I love the cool weather, not least of which is because I get to snuggle under blankets at night instead of laying ontop of the sheets with the fan blowing on me… I sleep better when it’s cool/cold!

    I am looking forward to the extra time I get with the kids to spend with family around the holidays too!!

    Like

Everyone has an opinion...let's hear yours!

