The Playground of a Writer’s Mind

This may or may not be brief.

You see, I’m supposed to be doing something else right now- calling an  attorney for a person I gave birth to, once (don’t ask), packing my clothes to leave town tomorrow…and something else…what is it again?

Oh! That’s right! I’m supposed to be completing my one thousand, six hundred something words for this little thing called NaNoWriMo? Maybe you’ve heard of it? Anyhoo, ( I despise that bastard phrase and don’t know why I even used it) in case you have not, it is this insane writing challenge where a bunch of already nutty people get together across the universe and agree that each of them will try to turn out a 50,000 page novel in one month. Thirty days, November first to November 30th.

No, you do not get time off for Thanksgiving, or even black Friday. I don’t really know why they picked November of all months- I mean, why not May? No one does anything in May! But November it is, and I agreed to their rules, and I am way too stubborn to give up, so…

So I’m sitting here writing THIS. Seems a little counterintuitive, doesn’t it?

Well, let me tell you a little something about the crazy mind of a writer who has agreed to begin a project on a certain day and finish by a certain deadline- ALL October, all I could think about was this challenge. I knew what I was going to write, and who the characters were going to be, where they would live, what they looked like and what the point of the whole story would be. It nearly killed me not to be a cheater and start early, I was so enthused.

So, I wake up at four thirty this morning, turn on my computer, write about 600 words, and catch myself SURFING THE INTERNET. Weeks of planning, and suddenly, under the pretense of googling “common witch names in history”, I am off in f*****g la-la land! Unbelievable.

I redirect myself back to my story, and get so excited over some little unexpected plot twist that I HAVE to have a cigarette. Except I don’t smoke inside, and I don’t want to haul my laptop out, so…a few minutes later, I realize I have just hoodwinked myself once again and slyly sidestepped my goal in life, which is to write my stupid story!

This went on and on in one way or another right up until the time I had to leave and do time in the “real” world. At least things make some sense out there. Anyway, I have to get back to what I’m supposed to be doing right now.  Well, right after I finish dying my hair, that is.

Love you all! Happy Writing, if you are one of my tribe!

2 thoughts on “The Playground of a Writer’s Mind

  1. Courtney, I can totally relate to your predicament on this wonderful first day of Nov!! How many different choices(hair colors, lengthe etc.) or rather, how long did it take you to get back on track?!!! I really love your posts, do subscribe & ALWAYS share ’em w/my Sweetheart!! Love, Peace & lotsa Blessings!!Love the ”flow-chart” too!

    Like

Everyone has an opinion...let's hear yours!

