Withdrawals

Image

 

I am no stranger to withdrawals. I have been through them in a multitude of ways, on many occasions- I’ve been through                       methamphetamine withdrawals, both as a snorter AND a smoker (up yours if you think they aren’t different, and double up yours to the powers that decided that meth has no “physical withdrawal symptoms”…anyone who smoked long enough knows the feeling of getting hit with a low voltage cattle prod, repeatedly, throughout the day). I have gone through nicotine withdrawals. I even had a slight, perplexing, little bout with mild alcohol withdrawal, in my early twenties, when I worked at Viva’s, the dive bar on Alvarado street in downtown Monterey. Yeah, we drank quite a bit, before, after…okay, and DURING work. We were freaking twenty somethings with unlimited free access to alcohol. How could you expect anything less? I have suffered through withdrawals of all kinds, up to and including terrible love withdrawals, and really unwise bank withdrawals, even (sorry, i had to throw that in there somewhere). But this is the weirdest one, ever. My friend, i am going through Facebook withdrawals.

Yesterday, out of nowhere, I just decided to ban myself from Facebook for the weekend. Friday night to Monday morning. No big deal, right? WRONG. I find myself composing status updates in my head as I am driving, clever little blurbs about…well, Facebook withdrawals, which I cannot write about because I am NOT using Facebook. Just for today. Well, and also, tomorrow. I actually almost had to remove the icon on my IPhone, the compulsion to click that hypnotic little blue “F”  was so strong. So far, I’ve been able to resist. Just barely.

What’s the big deal, right? I mean, can Facebook really be harmful? Well, I think it has the potential to be, for some people. I am one of those people. I have a tendency to overdo things, anyway. I am also a bit of a narcissist, a show off, and a blabber mouth. I really like attention. I like to make people laugh. I have an opinion about all kinds of things. And I really don’t like to miss an opportunity to put my two cents in. (reminder to myself- include this paragraph when and if you get to your sixth step, regarding character defects). So for me, it was becoming yet another thing I was going overboard on. I found myself checking my page first thing in the morning, right before bed, and posting billions of times a day. Or what seemed like it anyway. 

The thing is, it was starting to feel a little overwhelming for me. I don’t really need to say so much, nor do I need to see or know so much. I don’t really need to post fifteen little clever memes a day, or twenty three inspirational quotes…or as my good friend, Robert, pointed out, tips on how best to clean your fruit. Up yours, too, Robert. LOL. So I am doing a two day Facebook cleanse. I have a feeling it won’t kill me.

Now the tricky part will be figuring out if this links correctly to my Facebook when I post it. Oh well. Even that will just have to work itself out. 

 

2 thoughts on “Withdrawals

  1. I know what you mean………Facebook just can’t be healthy, right? I discovered it when I became unemployed and find myself drawn to it to have some contact with the outside world. And when the insomnia hits, it’s my best friend. I want to see what the rest of the world is doing, although my own family are complete strangers to me now. A little bout of anxiety and depression really sort out who your friends are. I wish you success, dear Courtney. Your life will be wonderful, better beyond your wildest dreams. You deserve it and you are smart enough to do something with it.

    Like

    1. Wow! What a wonderful compliment. I haven’t quite had enough coffee yet to respond sufficiently, I’m afraid. I didn’t think it would be this hard to keep away from Facebook…but now I am beginning to wonder if the weekend will be long enough! We’ll see how I do. I should have called this “The Anti-Social Project”, hahaha! Perhaps that is a title for another day. Oh, and by the way, I am totally gorging myself on Pinterest and Goodreads, and I feel like I am cheating. 🙂

      Like

Everyone has an opinion...let's hear yours!

