The Writer’s Dilemma…

blogshakespearecomic

I have started working on a new story, so what is happening is what always happens- I am finding it harder to come up with the time and energy to devote to this blog. It’s funny, because they are such different things, and both of them give me something I want. Blogging has the immediate reward that I love- I have the ability to see who has read what I have written, who I have reached, who enjoys my writing. I get that immediate gratification that I love so much.

When I am writing a story, though, it is different. The story starts to materialize in my mind before I ever sit down to start sketching it out. It always starts like this- I am washing dishes, or walking my dog, or sitting on the toilet, and my mind goes “what if…say a girl was walking her dog early in the morning, like this, and they were by a cemetery…and the dog dragged her into the cemetery, and she lost the leash, and when she was trying to grab it, she fell…into an open grave…” Or maybe I start to see other parts of the story first, and then that first part comes to me. Eventually, it becomes almost painful not to start writing it out. I don’t get any immediate feedback on it, and most of the stories I have started, I haven’t even finished, for one reason or another. I lose interest, or something happens in my life that takes me away from writing, and when I come back, I just want to start something new.

I want to develop better habits, a solid writing routine, because- I have finally realized- this is everything to me. If I don’t get on the ball now, when will I? When I was very young, I already knew that writing was my calling in life, but I thought I had all the time in the world. I don’t know what I was waiting for. I don’t want to wait anymore. So, here I am, back to getting up at four every morning, so that I can have this time to write. I’m two chapters in on my new story, and I intend to finish this one. I also have decided to finish the editing of my first finished novel, and start sending it off again. I figure one of two things can happen- it will be rejected, or it won’t. I don’t need to get all nutty over it, I just need to do it. If no one wants it, then I will come up with something else. I don’t need to be afraid. I should be more afraid of doing nothing.

I plan on continuing blogging, and actually, I wrote a really good one earlier this week, but decided not  to publish it in the interest of not pissing off everybody in the world who disagrees with me…especially a few particular people whom the blog was aimed at. If they weren’t people I knew personally, I probably would have gone ahead with it, but I am trying to be responsible with my words these days, and not go around stabbing people with my literary sword. Although it sure is tempting sometimes.

I am very interested to hear about your writing routine- are you dedicated to it? Is there a time of day that works best for you? Do you have a hard time blogging when you are caught up in other literary pursuits?

I know this is a short one today, but I really just wanted to check in, let everyone know what is going on with me. I’ll be back before you know it!

4 thoughts on “The Writer’s Dilemma…

  1. Well, I hope you keep up the blog because I really enjoy reading it. And it’s really all about me, isn’t it? You have a way with words that is rare and special. As far as writing routines go, I’m trying to develop one myself. Since I have the entire day to do whatever I want, I often end up getting nothing at all done. I envision devoting my afternoons to writing. Or nights. Either one. You see my dilemma? I have several stories in my head at once and they develop and grow and change even before I can get them down on paper. So, I have a notebook that I write all these random ideas in, but I have to get them written down or I forget them. Surprisingly fast. Gettin’ older

    Like

    1. Lets make a deal-we both write a minimum of two pages per day, and i agree to continue my blog a minimum of twice per week. Does that sound fair? Thank you, by the way-i’m glad you enjoy my blog. Feel free to share it. Sometimes i feel like i am talking to crickets, lol. I just realized that none of my “I’s” are capitalized, but i’m writing on my phone, so…stupid phone.😁

      Like

      1. Sometimes I type like I’m e.e.cummings or something. But, yeah, you have yourself a deal. Two pages a day. I wrote for quite a while last night. I didn’t count the pages. But I can do it! And I will pass your blog on. At least two of my sisters will enjoy it.

        Like

Everyone has an opinion...let's hear yours!

