Some More Whining From Me. Enjoy.

Stressed man and laptop

I have been dealing with a lot of anxiety, lately (which probably means I should be meditating rather than writing this, but whatever), and I know I have written about this in the past. Unfortunately, I don’t remember what I wrote, so there is a good chance I will be contradicting myself. If so, please forgive me. I am a really wishy washy human being, and my ideals pretty much change with my mood. This isn’t so bad in real time, but when you write a blog, and state certain things as facts, then forget about them and write something totally different later…you look a little silly. I guess I am alright with that. I mean, I’m not really alright with it, but I simply don’t have time to do the research, and make sure all my stories jibe. I’m not a liar, I’m just subject to my own whims.

Anyway, about my anxiety. Yeah, it sucks. I am having a really hard time at work again, and it seems like I can only hold up for a really short period of time these days, before I am back in the realm of lousy productivity. It’s no great mystery why this is- I am painfully, incredibly, horribly bored. I know I have said this before, too. I don’t know why I would expect it to change. The worst part of all is that I love the place I work for, and I love the people I work with, and I make really good money…wait, maybe that is the best part. What I am trying to say is that there are these great things about this job, but the bigger part is always the work, and the work has become intolerable, and how do I possibly go on? How do I possibly leave? What would I do then? I know so many people who just buck up, knuckle down (is that even an expression? I think it is, but it is still very early, and those words make very little sense to me at this point) and do what they need to do, to the very best of their ability.

I am just lousy for that, though.  I am the kind of person who just fucking suffers when faced with a task that holds no interest for me. It feels an awful lot like lying, which I am also intrinsically untalented at. So, like much of the rest of my life, I am just sort of bumbling along, hoping something makes sense, eventually. I know for a fact that I have said before that happiness is a choice- and I really believe that to be true. But sometimes the choices you have to make to really be happy are not readily apparent, or easy choices to make. The thing is, I don’t want to do what I do, but I don’t know what I do want to do. I mean, writing, obviously, but what are the odds that some magazine or weekly periodical is going to come banging on my email, offering me a starring role in a great new column, because they heard…nothing, ever, about me? And when you are the single mother of two beautiful daughters, you just don’t walk away from THEIR security so easily…if it was just me, I wouldn’t give two thoughts about it, but it’s them, and I like them, and want to keep them, so…so, off to work I go, I guess.

You can see the source of my anxiety, right? I believe happiness is a choice, but I am not happy, so I must be making the wrong choices. I am a huge fan of gratitude, and I am grateful…for some things, but not others, and I feel guilty. I crave security, and I have it, but I can’t stand the price of it. And worst of all, I realize how these are just top shelf problems. I have so much, how dare I whine about it? There are so many people, people I know, who are struggling in ways that I haven’t had to in so long…shouldn’t I be ashamed of myself for complaining? I don’t know. There is a lot to puzzle out here, and I will definitely revisit this until I find an answer.

In the meantime, there is just enough time left for me to meditate before I have to leave for work. Sigh.

5 thoughts on “Some More Whining From Me. Enjoy.

  1. Well, I know exactly what you’re talking about. I generally hated working, except when your Mom and i were in customer service at an unnamed insurance company. We sat together and talked and laughed all day long. They were always having to separate us, like we were bad children. I hated the last job I had and didn’t even try to keep it a secret. I did need the money and still do, but I’m probably happier now than I was then. Crazy. It’s because I have the freedom, which is all in my mind, to do whatever I want. It would be more beneficial to me if I weren’t such a procrastinator!!!

    Like

  2. This post feels so relatable to me. Just this week I was at work thinking to myself “Am I the only one who feels this tortured doing this?” On the outside I have a great job and love who and where I work, but sometimes I have a hard time going through the motions and actually DOING the work I’m there to do. I DO feel like a liar because no one would know that I’m sometimes secretly tortured at work because I don’t feel there are benefits of expressing this out loud. Then I think about my alternatives, and I don’t feel like I have realistic ones because going back to school to get my graduate degree may kill me. It can feel like a living hell and then I end up feeling ungrateful. I’m hoping to win that HGTV Dream Home I enter for all the time or win the lottery 🙂

    Anyway, I think you’re a wonderful writer and I really respect how honest you are here.

    Like

Everyone has an opinion...let's hear yours!

