The “Tired” Trap

yawn

I think I have mentioned this before- that people tend to get the impression from me, because I am animated and expressive, that I am just brimming with energy…well, let me tell you, NOTHING could be further from the truth. I am the girl who once fell asleep in a bowling alley- while it was open for business, and PACKED- across several hard, plastic, bucket seats. When I am tired, my day is over, period. There is nothing anyone can say to talk me out of sleeping, and no place that I cannot fall asleep at, if necessary.

This sounds like a dream come true (hahaha) to insomniacs, I know. The problem doesn’t seem like much of a problem at all when you would LOVE to be able to sleep. But, on the opposite side of the equation, you have me, Rip Van Winkle’s love child, who can’t resist the Siren’s call of sleep, even when it’s like, I don’t know, five o’clock in the evening. The time change this year, and the shortening of the days has destroyed me. The minute it gets dark outside, my body is like- “Okay, time to roll it up for the night.” Meanwhile, my kids are like “Mom, we haven’t had dinner yet.” I have coined a new moniker for myself lately, as a direct result of having to stay up later than my body clock thinks is just, and so my body trudges on while my brain sleeps. It is “Mombie.” See? Like Zombie, only with “mom” in the front.

On Friday, I went to bed at 6:30 in the evening and slept until 8:30 the following morning. Now, that is just ridiculous by ANYONE’S standards. My four year old went to bed with me, and watched TV until probably 8 before she fell asleep. I don’t know what time I went to bed Saturday night, but last night, after Camryn’s birthday party insanity, we both passed out around 6:30, only she woke up at like 8, woke me up by pulling my hair, and placing a cold, empty bowl over my face (she has gotten creative, I guess). I got her whatever she needed and then promptly went back to sleep. With her, of course.

The thing is, I used to be able to just take a nap, and then move on with my day. Now, I know, ideally, if you are going to bed as early as I have been, taking a nap at 6:30 is not very smart- any naps should be taken by like noon, at the latest. But it seems to me that, lately, I can’t ever wake up from a nap, not completely. I usually just go with things until they start to bug me, and this is starting to bug me. I am sleeping my entire life away. I am up right now, but I could totally go back to bed and continue to sleep, indefinitely. As a matter of fact, it seems like the more I sleep, the tireder I get. Which makes no sense at all, except that it is what happens. Hmm…

So, first and foremost, I am going to strike the words “I’m tired” from my vocabulary. Sometimes, I say things so much that I start to believe them.  Second, no more naps. I am going to push through- God knows there are plenty of things I could be doing around here besides sleep. ( On a side note, I think that may be precisely WHY I am slinking off to sleep all the time. Total avoidance of other, less enjoyable chores and things to do). Third, I notice again and again, that when I am exercising, I feel a thousand times better. In the build up for Camryn’s party, I wasn’t able to find time to walk or go to the gym, but I am going to do both today. I guarantee that I will feel less exhausted by the end of the day. I don’t know why that works, as it seems to be the opposite of what a tired person would do, but it does work. There is also the whole general nutrition side of things, which I have written about before,  and I know that the foods I eat effect me greatly. I think it was Saturday night that I caught myself musing “I have not eaten one thing that was good for me today.” And it was true! It wasn’t even challenging to eat like I had a total death wish, either. Easy as pie. (hahaha, I am just full of unintentional jokes today)

So, here is the plan- walking, working out, if not NONE, then at least LESS crap food. No naps. Oh, and water, water, water. And finally, no more saying “I am SO tired.”

UGH.  Just talking about it is making me…less energetic. So, how about you? Have you, or are you now, stuck in the tired trap? How did you get out? How do you plan to get out? Are there any tips you may have for me? Seriously, please share, because this whole situation is just BUNK. I need your help!

7 thoughts on “The “Tired” Trap

  1. Superfood smoothies, massive amounts of hot tea, and a gallon of water a day is how I make it through. However, I am not a mom so I can’t even begin to understand your fatigue. Like, you have other lives you are in charge of and that sounds out right exhausting. 🙂 Have a great Monday!

    Like

    1. It is!!! But we arent going to talk about that, right? “Tired” is stricken from the old vocabulary. We’ll see how it goes. I am definitely going to try the water thing, and the smoothies sound like a logical step as well. Will investigate! Thank you for your help!❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t think you need help – you just need to follow through on all of your own good advice. You have nailed it. Now just do it. I know – easier said then done. JUST DO IT!! (I was saying that, BTW, LONG before f*ing Nike stole it from me. Seriously. I have proof.)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Filled with love: Madonna Badger at TEDxNightingaleBamfordSchool. I think this woman nailed it when she said “you can’t talk your way out of bed” The video is on YouTube.
    Good luck!!

    Like

  4. Heey, I’ve had this problem once or twice myself. For me it was beïng “overworked”. I didn’t exactly have work since I was in highschool back then, but i wás overworked. What works for me is take a break. And i know, you can’t take a break, ever. At least that’s my experience. But if you can find any given two or three days in a row off (preferably no longer than a week) this is what works for me: take a soul vacation. For me its not sight seeing or spending all day at the beach, but taking a hike on a mountain and looking at the scenery while you think over every single thing (also the small, unimportant ones) that is going on in your life. Bad ánd good, to keep balance. The best thing is: you dont need to worrie about any of this while you all think it over, cuz it’s yóúr vacation. After doing this for a few days (thinking things over that is, and reflecting on yourself and your current position in life) if you do it right: you will feel energized again. And everything that was weighing you down now feels lighter and accepted. Good luck, dear “me project”

    Like

Everyone has an opinion...let's hear yours!

