When Your Blog is Broken.

Have you ever had a broken blog? Well, let me tell you, it is pretty frustrating- my blog has been broken lately, and I really don’t know what to do about it. I mean, is anyone ever really prepared for a sick and malfunctioning blog? This is not something you can really be ready for, unless you are a complete computer whiz, which, by anyone’s standards, I am not. I have been with WordPress for this long for that very reason- I am barely computer literate, and WordPress is, or always has been, anyway, super simple and user friendly.

Until, of course, my blog stopped functioning. I mean, if you are reading this (all four of you who can actually see it because you subscribe to my fantastic and enthralling writing, and/or you found it via Facebook or Twitter) then you wouldn’t know what I mean…but my blog is no longer showing up in the ever important “Reader” under any of the Categories I assign to it. Not under “Addiction” or “Recovery” (which, of course, would be stupid categories for this particular blog, since it is not about either of those things, but you catch my drift…), nope…my blog isn’t showing up anywhere.

Let me tell you something about writing a blog- the only reason I do it is because I want to share my thoughts and my particular perspective with the world. This is the avenue I have chosen to do that. So when I write something, and put all that effort into it, and it doesn’t work…that is pretty frustrating. I have visited the forums and tried to figure out how to resolve this issue on my own, but, as I said before, there is a whole lot more technical stuff (at least to me it seems technical- plug ins and re-setting things and blah, blah, blah…shit I know absolutely NOTHING about) than I am capable of comprehending. And you know what sucks even worse than having a broken blog? Having a broken blog and then having to feel stupid when you can’t grasp all the nerd-speak in the fix-it directions. Thanks, WordPress! Now I feel ineffective and stupid, as well as blog-less.

When your blog is broken and no one reads it, your stats really suck. When your stats really suck, and you can’t fix your blog, you don’t feel like writing anymore. When you stop writing, the five people who like your blog stop following you. And when you have no readers…what, really, is the point? There isn’t one.

Of course, this blog will probably pop right up in the reader, like nothing was ever wrong. Way to go, WordPress. Now I look crazy on top of everything else.

5 thoughts on “When Your Blog is Broken.

  1. HAhaha! I’m sorry… I don’t mean to laugh at your pain, but been there, done that. SO RIDICULOUSLY FRUSTRATING. Can you shoot an e-mail to WordPress directly asking your specific questions? I’d offer to help but… I’m dumb. At least about this bloggy stuff. But… good luck? God speed? Fingers crossed? Also, don’t stop blogging… we’d miss you!

    Like

Everyone has an opinion...let's hear yours!

